Winemaker of the Year 2017

The 20th Gourmet Traveller WINE Winemaker of the Year has been announced and the judges could not go past David Bicknell of Oakridge. His single-site chardonnays, championing of the Yarra Valley wine region, passionate support of Victorian pinot noir and prolific show judging have seen him become a tour de force in the Australian wine industry. He is a very worthy winner in this landmark year of the awards.

Michael Downer of Murdoch Hill is the recipient of the Young Winemaker Medal. His skill and hard work have seen the wines from his family’s label improve in leaps and bounds in a short amount of time.

Perpetual Viticulturist of the Year was awarded to Mark Walpole who has been responsible for several stand-out vineyards for Brown Brothers as well as his own, Fighting Gully Road. A true leader in the field.

The Len Evans Award for Leadership was taken out by Coriole’s Mark Lloyd who throughout his career has campaigned for alternative varieties in Australia while crafting some of the country’s best shiraz.