You have free articles remaining this month.
Subscribe now for 50c a week. Subscribe

Winemaker of the Year Awards

It’s been 21 years since Jeffrey Grosset won the inaugural Gourmet Traveller WINE Winemaker of the Year Award. Two of his fellow nominees were subsequent winners: Philip Shaw and Vanya Cullen. They, like other winners and finalists, still provide many of the great classic Australian wines as well as some cutting-edge styles that challenge the most avant-garde creations of the young and daring.  

These awards continue to focus on the top wines produced in this country through Winemaker of the Year; continue to recognise leadership through the Len Evans Award; highlight viticultural excellence with the Perpetual Viticulturist of the Year; and offer glimpses of the finest talent from the next generation through Young Winemaker of the Year.

Past Winners

Winemaker of the Year Winners

1998 Jeffrey Grosset, Grosset Wines    
1999 Philip Shaw, Philip Shaw  
2000 Vanya Cullen, Cullen Wines    
2001 Gary Farr, Wines By Farr    
2002 Phil Laffer, Jacob’s Creek  
2003 Rick Kinzbrunner, Giaconda
2004 Andrew Spinaze, Tyrrell's Wines        
2005 Peter Bissell, Balnaves  
2006 Stephen and Prue Henschke      
2007 Steve Webber, De Bortoli Wines
2008 Louisa Rose, Yalumba
2009 Andrew Wigan, Peter Lehmann
2010 Sue Hodder and Allen Jenkins, Wynns
2011 Ed Carr, House of Arras
2012 Virginia Willcock, Vasse Felix
2013 Tim Kirk, Clonakilla
2014 Peter Gago, Penfolds
2015 Stephen Pannell, S.C. Pannell
2016 Steve Flamsteed, Giant Steps
2017 David Bicknell, Oakridge Wines
2018 Janice McDonald, Burch Family Wines

Jeffrey Grosset of Grosset Wines, 1st Winemaker of the Year (1998)

Young Winemaker Medal Winners

2001 Ross Pamment, Houghton Wines
2002 Celine Rousseau, Eden Road Wines      
2003 Martin Cooper, McWilliam's Wines
2004 Ben Glaetzer, Glaetzer Wines
2005 Fran Austin, Delamere Vineyards
2006 Bill Downie, William Downie
2007 Kym Teusner, Teusner Wines
2008 Helen McCarthy, Taylors Wines
2009 Sarah Fagan, De Bortoli
2010 Tom Shobbrook, Shobbrook Wines
2011 Nick Glaetzer, Frogmore Creek/Glaetzer-Dixon Family Winemakers
2012 Jacob Stein, Robert Stein Winery
2013 Tom Barry, Jim Barry Wines
2014 Gwyn Olsen, Briar Ridge
2015 Melanie Chester, Sutton Grange Winery
2016 Nic Peterkin, L.A.S. Vino
2017 Michael Downer, Murdoch Hill
2018 Owen Latta, Eastern Peake/Latta Vino

Janice McDonald of Burch Family Wines, 21st Winemaker of the Year (2018)
Janice McDonald of Burch Family Wines, 21st Winemaker of the Year (2018)

Leadership Len Evans Award Winners

2007 David Hohnen, McHenry Hohnen Vintners
2008 Robert Hill Smith, Yalumba
2009 Kevin McLintock, McWilliam's Wines
2010 Robert O’Callaghan, Rockford
2011 Dr Edgar Riek OAM
2012 Alister Purbrick, Tahbilk
2013 Iain Riggs, Brokenwood
2014 Peter Gago, Penfolds
2015 Warren Randall, Seppeltsfield
2016 Brian Walsh, Wine Australia
2017 Mark Lloyd, Coriole
2018 Judi Cullam, Frankland Estate

Perpetual Viticulturist of the Year Winners

2013 Ray Guerin, Shaw & Smith
2014 The Chalmers Family, Chalmers Wines
2015 Ashley Ratcliff, Ricca Terra
2016 Brian Croser, Tapanappa
2017 Mark Walpole, Fighting Gully Road
2018 Fred Peacock, Bream Creek