2020 People’s Choice Award winner, Will Gilbert of Gilbert Wines.

Not even a pandemic was enough to cancel this year’s Young Gun of Wine (YGOW) Awards ceremony. One of the most anticipated events on the Australian wine industry calendar each year, YGOW – now in its 14th year – celebrates the best of the country’s up-and-coming winemakers.

For the first time ever, the awards were announced and presented via video, with congratulatory messages sent in from well-known Australians including Adam Liaw, Ricky Ponting and Eddie McGuire, as well as wine personalities such as Jancis Robinson MW and Vanya Cullen.

The 2020 Young Gun of Wine trophy winners are:

Young Gun of Wine: Dilworth & Allain (Macedon Ranges, Victoria)

Best New Act: Dilworth & Allain (Macedon Ranges, Victoria)

Danger Zone Wine Award: 2019 Dhiaga Moscato (Swan Hill, Victoria)

People’s Choice Award: Gilbert (Orange/Mudgee, New South Wales)

Winemaker’s Choice Award: Frederick Stevenson (South Australia)

Best New Act winners Chris Dilworth and Loique Allain of Dilworth & Allain.

Dilworth & Allain – this year’s top trophy winner – are a husband and wife team from Victoria’s Macedon Ranges.

“Loïque and Chris do everything – from farming and making truly exceptional wines, right through to the artwork that adorns their labels,” says YGOW founder Rory Kent. “That their offering – in the eyes of our panel of industry experts – has been chosen as the most compelling from 50 of Australia’s best emerging winemakers is testament to just how good these wines are.”

Visit younggunofwine.com for more info