You have free articles remaining this month.
Subscribe now for 50c a week. Subscribe

Despite the great challenges of the past 12 months, our intrepid judging panel for the NZ Winemaker of the Year Awards, chaired by Bob Campbell MW and including industry experts Cameron Douglas MS and retailer Liz Wheadon, has been able to present stellar results for the 2021 Awards.

GT WINE’s 2021 New Zealand Winemaker of the Year is Jules Taylor of Jules Taylor Wines. Previous winners include Dom Maxwell, Greystone (2018); Helen Masters, Ata Rangi (2019); Jen Parr, Valli (2020). The gong for Viticulturist of the Year goes to well-deserving team Sherwyn Veldhuizen and Marcel Giesen of Bell Hill, and the Leadership Award has been taken out by Ben Glover of Zephyr Wines. While our annual gala award ceremony had to be put on hold and done virtually, we are delighted to celebrate these winemakers’ wonderful achievements here.
All text by Cameron Douglas MS


New Zealand Winemaker of the Year 2021

Jules Taylor

Jules taylor wines