You have free articles remaining this month.
Subscribe now for 50c a week. Subscribe
Winemaker of the Year 2020

The calibre of the contenders for the 23rd Gourmet Traveller WINE Winemaker of the Year was as impressive as ever. But the judges couldn’t go past second-time nominee Nick Farr of By Farr, who has been recognised for championing fine wines – especially pinot noir and chardonnay in Geelong, Vic. Joshua Cooper, another Victorian, is this year’s recipient of the Young Winemaker Medal for the outstanding wines he makes under his eponymous label in the chilly Macedon Ranges. Catherine Kidman‘s detailed vineyard investigation and groundbreaking research into vine irrigation at Wynns Coonawarra have earned her the Perpetual Viticulturist of the Year Award, while the Len Evans Award for Leadership has been awarded to scientist and viticulturist Dr Mary Retallack, who is challenging the conventions of modern-day viticulture.