You have free articles remaining this month.
Subscribe now for 50c a week. Subscribe
Winemaker of the Year 2021

Now in its 24th year, the Gourmet Traveller WINE Winemaker of the Year Awards celebrates the very pinnacle of Australia’s ever-impressive winegrowing community. This year, the judges have recognised Sarah Crowe of Yarra Yering, a second-time nominee in as many years, as the deserving 2021 winner – not just for her innate craftsmanship, but also her intuitive work in the vineyards of this iconic estate. New South Wales’ Will Gilbert is the recipient of the Young Winemaker Medal, for the exponential quality of the Orange and Mudgee wines he produces under his family’s label. Lee Haselgrove, best known for his work with Frankland River’s Swinney Wines, has rightly earned himself the title of Viticulturist of the Year, while the Len Evans Award for Leadership has gone to renowned author and teacher Patrick Iland OAM, for his tireless research and efforts to educate others on the virtues of Australian wine.